skip navigation
The AWPF Official Website Protecting Arizona's River and Riparian Resources
Arizona Water Protection Fund AWPF's Official Web Site
Protecting Arizona's River and Riparian Resources
Phone list Print this page Bookmark this page eMail a link to this page Decrease text sizeEACH CLICK increases text size   


Arizona Water Protection Fund Commission

The Commission is the main policy making body for the AWPF and is responsible for approving grant awards. The Commission is comprised of 15 voting members who are appointed by the Governor, President of the Senate, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Inter-Tribal Council of Arizona, and Central Arizona Water Conservation District. Commissioners must be Arizona residents and meet specific statutory criteria to be eligible for appointment. They serve 3-year staggered terms. In addition, the Director of the Arizona Department of Water Resources and the Commissioner of the Arizona State Land Department serve as ex-officio non-voting members of the Commission.

Arizona Water Protection Fund Administration

The Arizona Department of Water Resources provides the primary technical, legal and administrative staff to the Commission and is managed through the program’s Executive Director.

The Arizona State Land Department is authorized to provide a staff position to act as a special liaison to Arizona’s Natural Resource Conservation Districts; however has remained vacant due to fiscal constraints.